Primary Image

Lubitsch in Berlin (MOC) in January

Eureka Entertainment have announced the UK DVD release of Lubitsch in Berlin as part of their Masters of Cinema Series on 25th January 2010 priced at £49.99 RRP. Before he arrived in Hollywood to leave his indelible (and inimitable) mark on timeless comedies like Trouble in Paradise and The Shop Around the Corner, Ernst Lubitsch created an expansive body of work in Germany that proved to be as varied in its tone as it was sophisticated in its measure of man and woman. This box set collects six recently restored works from the silent phase of Lubitsch’s career: Ich möchte kein Mann sein, Die Puppe, Die Austernprinzessin, Sumurun, Anna Boleyn and Die Bergkatze.

Features include:

  • Six features across five discs, packaged in Thinpak casings within a hardbox
  • A sixth disc containing Robert Fischer’s 2006 feature-length documentary Ernst Lubitsch in Berlin: From Schönhauser Allee to Hollywood
  • New and exclusive concertina score for Die Puppe
  • New liner notes for all six features by film-writers David Cairns, Anna Thorngate, and Ignatiy Vishnevetsky

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles